Stupid headlines

For those of you haven’t yet caught on, I like reading the papers. I read pretty widely, but if I’ve only got a bit of time I’ll go for Melbourne broadsheet (for now) The Age. I reckon over the years their sub-editing has gone downhill, and I’m not sure they’re keeping up with the demands of the online newsworld.

Here, for your enjoyment, are three fantastically stupid headlines from The Age online. I have put them here as images because they have a sneaky way of updating the headlines when they realise they have screwed up.

stab victim headline

Okay, so this one is a bit pedantic, but if I was stabbed I wouldn’t be saying, “shit, I’d better buy a lotto ticket.”

Severed head headline

Umm, did he or she bring a written note with them?

Stallone headline

The real headline here is ‘Stallone says something coherent’. Or alternatively, ‘Stallone says Mwaurry’.

Media Watch regularly post a ‘dog of the week’ if you’re into stupid headlines.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Leave a Reply

