Covers

Clearly the poor blog has suffered a bit in the past week while one of the key events in my work year took place (and it wasn’t me being fired). But happy days, that is done with for another year and I should have some inspiration to keep the posts coming.

I’m no great fan of reality TV – even the multiple car pileup that is ‘Age of Love’ is wearing thin – but I have a guilty pleasure: Australian Idol. Wait! Don’t go, let me explain. There are few things funnier than people who are truly, tragically delusional about their station in life. I am lots of things, but I don’t think I am delusional.

For example, my major talents in life are doing dishes and not losing my car keys. That’s the hand I’ve been dealt, and I’ll go as far as I can on it. But what you won’t see is me entering my blog in the Man Booker prize (which is the literary equivalent of Idol I’m told).

My allegiences have shifted to the judges’ side as the years have gone on. If you are thick enough to keep coming back, then you deserve a bake.

But here is the other reason I like Australian Idol: I really, really like cover versions. It is an art form, and one that only a few people can do really well. But when they do, it will leave you wondering where their version was hiding in the original. To channel Marcia Hines, they take a song and make it their own.

On the other hand you’ve got Captain Spalding, a rubbish cover band who butchered countless songs while I drank pots and butchered dance moves at the Mountain View (or ‘The Spew’ as it was better known) as a young fella. But that is another post altogether…

Some recent examples of good covers: Bobby Flynn was really good at it (ie ‘Superfreak’). Katie Noonan covered ‘Crazy’ by Gnarls Barkly on Sunrise the other day, and did a cracking job. Regina Spektor’s cover of ‘Real Love’ by John Lennon is all over Triple J.

Here are ten other covers that I can just keep listening to. It’s a pretty cliched list in many ways, but if you haven’t heard these, seek them out.

Seven Nation Army – Nostalgia 77
The Drugs Don’t Work – Ben Harper
Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley
Wonderwall – Ryan Adams
Renegades (the entire awesome album) – Rage Against The Machine
Teardrop – Jose Gonzalez
Milkshakes – The Pictures
Easy – Faith No More
All along the watchtower – Jimi Hendrix (not U2)
Hotel California – Cat Empire


add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

2 thoughts on “Covers

Leave a Reply

