Hugs for the interwebs

Today’s post is a big shout out to the internet. Which is a big call really. There are a couple of reasons for the love.

Firstly, free stuff. I decided I wanted to put ‘Family Guy’ from DVD to my iPod for an upcoming trip to Cambodia. Free advice from Lifehacker, then two free programs (DVD Decrypter and Videora) and I’m done. This all possible because there is a nice online community helping me out. And of course I used a little free search engine called Google to pull it all together. Apparently they are doing okay out of some sort of advertising arrangement.

The second reason I’m liking the ‘net is the Aussie Bloggers Forum. If you’re Aussie and you blog, go and have a sticky beak. There are all sorts of bloggers there. For example I’m not huge on quilting, but I’m sure there are plenty of people who aren’t all that excited about reading about damaged testicles either, so each to their own. There’s plenty of space on the web. A few of the bloggers are on my newly updated blogroll.

So good on you, online communities.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

One thought on “Hugs for the interwebs

Leave a Reply

