Turning 30

I turned 30 on Saturday – International Women’s Day. The Excellent Missus was in Sydney for work, so I was at bit of an end.

So to celebrate 30 awesome years of contribution to humankind, I attended a gym circuit / boxing circuit / wrestling session run by a guy from my footy club. No better way to see in my 30th birthday than by being reminded of my own mortality by a guy who crushes melons in his armpits just for the practice.

The weights session and the boxing circuit I coped with (barely), but the wrestling was something else. Asides from the fact they are latently homosexual, I have discovered that Greco-Roman wrestlers are also very, very fit. Trying not to get smashed to a pulp really takes it out of you, and is very good training for footy.

Fighting my teammate reminded me of a boa constrictor eating a pig. You know it’s going to take the snake a while, but the result is inevitable. Spending two minutes grimly trying to keep my feet, before getting my arse kicked in less than 10 seconds, was a truly humbling experience.

I tried to console myself that my strengths lay in other areas, but to be honest when I was in a headlock so tight that the veins in my temples were about to burst, the knowledge that I write a pretty handy media release was very little consolation indeed.

Snake eats pig

The pictures above and below summarise turning 30 – it might take a while, but it’s inevitable. Guess who I empathise with?

Greco Roman wrestling

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

One thought on “Turning 30

Leave a Reply

