Whitney: her name is not Susan

My post yesterday about lazy and obscure rap lyrics drew a comment that provided an answer to a question I have had since the mid-90s: what the hell were Salt n’ Pepa singing about when they said:

Yes its me that he’s always choosing. With him I’m never losing,
And he knows that my name is not Susan.

It prompted this comment from ‘Salt n Pepa Fan’:

So, I stand corrected – the lyric is not obscure, it’s homage. It also triggered a few other things. For example, what sort of idiot bloke confuses Whitney with Susan? I could understand if the song was called My Name is Not Winnie, but Susan? He isn’t even trying.

Of course an obligatory youtube search followed, and it provided this early-90s gem, which I’ll leave you with for the evening. Note the early-90s suit-wearing, hip-hop dancing, primary colour-loving precursors to The Wiggles:

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Leave a Reply

